Seven up

More Week 7-related gubbins:

Wikis

I like the democratic nature of wikis. How they allow everyone to contribute. In theory…

As instructed, I tried to add my 23things blog to the uklibraryblogs list of 23things blogs but clicking the “edit” button sadly got me nowhere. I forgot that I already had a pbwiki account having joined to view a the wiki on HEI digitisation procedures set up by a colleague at Kings College but I notice in my profile that I’m not entitled to edit the uklibraryblogs wiki, so have (I think) requested permission to do so. We’ll see where that gets me…

The Day in the Life blogs seem like a good idea. I have bookmarked this to come back to later (when the 23things deadline heat is off) which brings me to…

Social bookmarking

Lately I’ve been relying on the bookmarking possibilities of Pageflakes (see my earlier post about this) but I’d forgotten (so many resources, so many accounts already set up in the dim and distant…) that for some time I used the old defunct FURL service, now rebranded as Diigo. Imagine my surprise when I discover that my lists of web sites for French language learners and gig venues remain intact on the fantastic World Wide Web!

The layout of the page in del.icio.us is much more attractive than what you get in Diigo with its annoyingly prominent “Ads by Google” (I really have enough “Ads by Google” in my life already) but can I be bothered to start again from scratch with del.icio.us? Er, no.

Evernote

Hmm. I really need something to gather together all the handwritten notes I’ve started accumulating in various notebooks and help me keep tabs on all the ethnomusicology textbooks I’ve been reading for my research. Maybe Evernote could help with this? I haven’t got much in the way of online resources to add at the moment but it might be worth bearing in mind from that point of view too.

That’s all for today I think…

About libreryblogger

I'm the Copyright and Digital Resources Officer working in a London university library. You're jealous, aren't you?
This entry was posted in 23things, social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Seven up

  1. RMG says:

    You can import your bookmarks from diigo into delicious – is a setting in diigo to link your two accounts. Worth thinking about anyway!

    Rowena 23 Things Team

Leave a comment